{"schema_version":1,"layer":"incentives","reviewed_on":"2026-10-26","coverage_note":"Selected state program requirements and a dated operator report. Eligibility, commitments, operator reports and independently verified outcomes have different meanings. No cost per job is calculated.","items":[{"id":"incentive-mn-data-center-program","kind":"incentive_program","subject":"Minnesota data center equipment and software exemption","state_codes":["mn"],"scope":"Three separate qualification paths and certification requirements. Eligibility, projected investment, a certificate and an actual paid benefit are different findings. Current electricity taxation is separate from equipment exemptions.","fields":{"status":{"value":"program","source_ids":["mn-deed-data-center-20261023","mn-data-center-statute-20261023"],"scope":"Program requirements, not a particular facility award or exemption certificate.","locator":"DEED benefits and apply sections; statute subdivision 42"},"authority":{"value":"Minnesota Statutes 297A.68 subdivision 42","source_ids":["mn-data-center-statute-20261023"],"scope":"The checked page lists 2026 changes to other subdivisions; this review uses subdivision 42 itself.","locator":"Recent history,2026 changes notice and subdivision 42"},"qualified_path":{"value":"At least 25,000 square feet on one parcel or contiguous parcels, with at least $30 million qualifying costs within 48 months. Required facility features also apply.","source_ids":["mn-data-center-statute-20261023","mn-qualified-data-centers-20261023"],"scope":"Qualified data center path. Construction or substantial refurbishment timing, eligible costs and facility features are defined in the statute, not just a spending pledge.","locator":"Subdivision42(b); DOR new data center section"},"refurbished_path":{"value":"At least 25,000 square feet and at least $50 million qualifying costs within 24 months, with applicable reconstruction and facility feature conditions.","source_ids":["mn-data-center-statute-20261023","mn-qualified-data-centers-20261023"],"scope":"Qualified refurbished path, separate from the $30 million and 48 month path. One parcel or contiguous parcels.","locator":"Subdivision42(c) incorporating(b)(2),(3); DOR refurbished section"},"large_scale_path":{"value":"At least 25,000 square feet in buildings connected by fiber and associated equipment, at one or multiple locations; at least $250 million collectively by facility and tenants within 60 months beginning after June 30, 2025.","source_ids":["mn-data-center-statute-20261023","mn-deed-data-center-20261023"],"scope":"Qualified large scale path. Additional wage and sustainable design conditions apply. Not a current investment or approval finding for a named facility.","locator":"Subdivision42(e),(k),(l); DEED eligibility"},"benefit":{"value":"Qualifying enterprise IT equipment and software, including specified cooling, power and server infrastructure. Tax is collected and later refunded after required certification.","source_ids":["mn-data-center-statute-20261023","mn-qualified-data-centers-20261023"],"scope":"Eligible replacement and upgrade purchases can qualify. A refund process does not establish that any named company received money.","locator":"Subdivision42(a),(d),(i); DOR qualifying purchases and certification"},"duration":{"value":"Qualifying purchases within 35 years of the first purchase qualifying under paragraph(a).","source_ids":["mn-data-center-statute-20261023","mn-deed-data-center-20261023"],"scope":"The start is a qualifying purchase, not an assumed certification date or a universal expiration in 2042.","locator":"Subdivision42(f); DEED introductory paragraph"},"certification_cutoff":{"value":"Before July 1, 2042","source_ids":["mn-data-center-statute-20261023"],"scope":"Exclusive certification cutoff, not a statement that all benefits end on that date.","locator":"Subdivision42(g)"},"certification":{"value":"DEED must certify the applicable requirements to Revenue. Refunds cannot issue without that certification. Some eligible precertification purchases may be refunded after certification.","source_ids":["mn-data-center-statute-20261023","mn-qualified-data-centers-20261023"],"scope":"Application, projected qualification and certification are distinct. No individual certificate or approved refund reviewed here.","locator":"Subdivision42(h),(i),(j); DOR qualification timing"},"electricity_taxable_on":{"value":"2025-07-01","source_ids":["mn-qualified-data-centers-20261023"],"scope":"Electricity is taxable on and after this date in the current DOR guidance. Historical electricity exemption and possible refund claims before this date do not establish a current electricity exemption.","locator":"Electricity Exemption Prior to July 1, 2025 and taxable purchases sections"},"excluded_purchases":{"value":"DOR lists building materials, diesel or gasoline for backup generators, electricity from July 1, 2025, fire suppression systems, security systems and office furniture as taxable.","source_ids":["mn-qualified-data-centers-20261023"],"scope":"Facility features can be required for qualification while purchases of those features remain taxable. This focused list is not exhaustive.","locator":"What purchases do not qualify for the exemption"},"large_scale_conditions":{"value":"Covered construction and refurbishment labor must meet prevailing wage requirements. Within three years after service starts, a large scale facility must certify an accepted sustainable design or green building standard. Failure of that standard can require exemption repayment.","source_ids":["mn-data-center-statute-20261023"],"scope":"Additional statutory conditions for large scale qualification. Not a report that any named facility achieved certification, wages or a repayment.","locator":"Subdivision42(k),(l),(m)"},"reported_jobs":{"value":null,"source_ids":["mn-deed-data-center-20261023","mn-data-center-statute-20261023"],"scope":"No actual jobs for a particular company are established by these program requirements. No universal minimum job count is inferred from this focused review.","locator":"Program scope and review limit","unknown_reason":"No actual jobs for a particular company are established by these program requirements. No universal minimum job count is inferred from this focused review."},"actual_tax_benefit":{"value":null,"source_ids":["mn-deed-data-center-20261023","mn-data-center-statute-20261023"],"scope":"No company exemption amount, paid refund or realized public revenue is established.","locator":"Individual award hold","unknown_reason":"No company exemption amount, paid refund or realized public revenue is established."},"atlas_record_id":{"value":null,"source_ids":["mn-deed-data-center-20261023","mn-data-center-statute-20261023"],"scope":"No program eligibility or certificate has been independently assigned to a specific Atlas building or parcel.","locator":"Identity review hold","unknown_reason":"No program eligibility or certificate has been independently assigned to a specific Atlas building or parcel."}}}],"sources":{"mn-qualified-data-centers-20261023":{"url":"https://www.revenue.state.mn.us/qualified-data-centers","title":"Qualified Data Centers, tax administration guidance","publisher":"Minnesota Department of Revenue","published_on":null,"date_note":"Current agency guidance captured. Original publication day is not stated in the reviewed content.","checked_at":"2026-10-23T14:41:06.323167+00:00","sha256":"351ab001607d69062f1276a081af6aead8f7850471f62070187f4043a9b0bb90","scope":"Minnesota program requirements and the checked codified subdivision42, not an individual certification, grant payment or realized investment. Separate new, refurbished and large scale qualification paths.","tier":"A","establishes_status":["program"]},"mn-deed-data-center-20261023":{"url":"https://mn.gov/deed/business/financing-business/tax-credits/data-center-credit/","title":"Data Center Sales Tax Exemptions","publisher":"Minnesota Department of Employment and Economic Development","published_on":null,"date_note":"Current program guidance captured. Exact original publication day is not established.","checked_at":"2026-10-23T14:47:10.957306+00:00","sha256":"bfba2d2256b6c49049e1476fe627183b414c5f18ab78d405ad71a71766c47860","scope":"Minnesota program requirements and the checked codified subdivision42, not an individual certification, grant payment or realized investment. Separate new, refurbished and large scale qualification paths.","tier":"A","establishes_status":["program"]},"mn-data-center-statute-20261023":{"url":"https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=297A.68","title":"Minnesota Statutes297A.68 subdivision42","publisher":"Minnesota Revisor of Statutes","published_on":null,"date_note":"2025 codified edition with2026 amendment notices affecting subdivisions9a and37. Subdivision42 reflects listed2025 amendments; exact publication day not admitted.","checked_at":"2026-10-23T14:47:10.734258+00:00","sha256":"75a6d4dcd0a455da308b0c54af8e5bcf9522d069d696c18492b14715e8e5f1a6","scope":"Minnesota program requirements and the checked codified subdivision42, not an individual certification, grant payment or realized investment. Separate new, refurbished and large scale qualification paths.","tier":"A","establishes_status":["program"]}},"details":[{"id":"incentive-mn-data-center-program","html":"<article><h3>Minnesota data center equipment and software exemption</h3><p class=\"layer-scope\">Three separate qualification paths and certification requirements. Eligibility, projected investment, a certificate and an actual paid benefit are different findings. Current electricity taxation is separate from equipment exemptions.</p><dl class=\"layer-fields\"><dt>Status</dt><dd>program<span class=\"layer-source\"><a href=\"https://mn.gov/deed/business/financing-business/tax-credits/data-center-credit/\">Minnesota Department of Employment and Economic Development</a>. Source: Publication date not stated. Checked: October 23, 2026.</span> <span class=\"layer-source\"><a href=\"https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=297A.68\">Minnesota Revisor of Statutes</a>. Source: Publication date not stated. Checked: October 23, 2026.</span> <p class=\"layer-scope\">Program requirements, not a particular facility award or exemption certificate. Locator: DEED benefits and apply sections; statute subdivision 42.</p></dd><dt>Authority</dt><dd>Minnesota Statutes 297A.68 subdivision 42<span class=\"layer-source\"><a href=\"https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=297A.68\">Minnesota Revisor of Statutes</a>. Source: Publication date not stated. Checked: October 23, 2026.</span> <p class=\"layer-scope\">The checked page lists 2026 changes to other subdivisions; this review uses subdivision 42 itself. Locator: Recent history,2026 changes notice and subdivision 42.</p></dd><dt>Qualified path</dt><dd>At least 25,000 square feet on one parcel or contiguous parcels, with at least $30 million qualifying costs within 48 months. Required facility features also apply.<span class=\"layer-source\"><a href=\"https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=297A.68\">Minnesota Revisor of Statutes</a>. Source: Publication date not stated. Checked: October 23, 2026.</span> <span class=\"layer-source\"><a href=\"https://www.revenue.state.mn.us/qualified-data-centers\">Minnesota Department of Revenue</a>. Source: Publication date not stated. Checked: October 23, 2026.</span> <p class=\"layer-scope\">Qualified data center path. Construction or substantial refurbishment timing, eligible costs and facility features are defined in the statute, not just a spending pledge. Locator: Subdivision42(b); DOR new data center section.</p></dd><dt>Refurbished path</dt><dd>At least 25,000 square feet and at least $50 million qualifying costs within 24 months, with applicable reconstruction and facility feature conditions.<span class=\"layer-source\"><a href=\"https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=297A.68\">Minnesota Revisor of Statutes</a>. Source: Publication date not stated. Checked: October 23, 2026.</span> <span class=\"layer-source\"><a href=\"https://www.revenue.state.mn.us/qualified-data-centers\">Minnesota Department of Revenue</a>. Source: Publication date not stated. Checked: October 23, 2026.</span> <p class=\"layer-scope\">Qualified refurbished path, separate from the $30 million and 48 month path. One parcel or contiguous parcels. Locator: Subdivision42(c) incorporating(b)(2),(3); DOR refurbished section.</p></dd><dt>Large scale path</dt><dd>At least 25,000 square feet in buildings connected by fiber and associated equipment, at one or multiple locations; at least $250 million collectively by facility and tenants within 60 months beginning after June 30, 2025.<span class=\"layer-source\"><a href=\"https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=297A.68\">Minnesota Revisor of Statutes</a>. Source: Publication date not stated. Checked: October 23, 2026.</span> <span class=\"layer-source\"><a href=\"https://mn.gov/deed/business/financing-business/tax-credits/data-center-credit/\">Minnesota Department of Employment and Economic Development</a>. Source: Publication date not stated. Checked: October 23, 2026.</span> <p class=\"layer-scope\">Qualified large scale path. Additional wage and sustainable design conditions apply. Not a current investment or approval finding for a named facility. Locator: Subdivision42(e),(k),(l); DEED eligibility.</p></dd><dt>Benefit</dt><dd>Qualifying enterprise IT equipment and software, including specified cooling, power and server infrastructure. Tax is collected and later refunded after required certification.<span class=\"layer-source\"><a href=\"https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=297A.68\">Minnesota Revisor of Statutes</a>. Source: Publication date not stated. Checked: October 23, 2026.</span> <span class=\"layer-source\"><a href=\"https://www.revenue.state.mn.us/qualified-data-centers\">Minnesota Department of Revenue</a>. Source: Publication date not stated. Checked: October 23, 2026.</span> <p class=\"layer-scope\">Eligible replacement and upgrade purchases can qualify. A refund process does not establish that any named company received money. Locator: Subdivision42(a),(d),(i); DOR qualifying purchases and certification.</p></dd><dt>Duration</dt><dd>Qualifying purchases within 35 years of the first purchase qualifying under paragraph(a).<span class=\"layer-source\"><a href=\"https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=297A.68\">Minnesota Revisor of Statutes</a>. Source: Publication date not stated. Checked: October 23, 2026.</span> <span class=\"layer-source\"><a href=\"https://mn.gov/deed/business/financing-business/tax-credits/data-center-credit/\">Minnesota Department of Employment and Economic Development</a>. Source: Publication date not stated. Checked: October 23, 2026.</span> <p class=\"layer-scope\">The start is a qualifying purchase, not an assumed certification date or a universal expiration in 2042. Locator: Subdivision42(f); DEED introductory paragraph.</p></dd><dt>Certification cutoff</dt><dd>Before July 1, 2042<span class=\"layer-source\"><a href=\"https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=297A.68\">Minnesota Revisor of Statutes</a>. Source: Publication date not stated. Checked: October 23, 2026.</span> <p class=\"layer-scope\">Exclusive certification cutoff, not a statement that all benefits end on that date. Locator: Subdivision42(g).</p></dd><dt>Certification</dt><dd>DEED must certify the applicable requirements to Revenue. Refunds cannot issue without that certification. Some eligible precertification purchases may be refunded after certification.<span class=\"layer-source\"><a href=\"https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=297A.68\">Minnesota Revisor of Statutes</a>. Source: Publication date not stated. Checked: October 23, 2026.</span> <span class=\"layer-source\"><a href=\"https://www.revenue.state.mn.us/qualified-data-centers\">Minnesota Department of Revenue</a>. Source: Publication date not stated. Checked: October 23, 2026.</span> <p class=\"layer-scope\">Application, projected qualification and certification are distinct. No individual certificate or approved refund reviewed here. Locator: Subdivision42(h),(i),(j); DOR qualification timing.</p></dd><dt>Electricity taxable on</dt><dd>July 1, 2025<span class=\"layer-source\"><a href=\"https://www.revenue.state.mn.us/qualified-data-centers\">Minnesota Department of Revenue</a>. Source: Publication date not stated. Checked: October 23, 2026.</span> <p class=\"layer-scope\">Electricity is taxable on and after this date in the current DOR guidance. Historical electricity exemption and possible refund claims before this date do not establish a current electricity exemption. Locator: Electricity Exemption Prior to July 1, 2025 and taxable purchases sections.</p></dd><dt>Excluded purchases</dt><dd>DOR lists building materials, diesel or gasoline for backup generators, electricity from July 1, 2025, fire suppression systems, security systems and office furniture as taxable.<span class=\"layer-source\"><a href=\"https://www.revenue.state.mn.us/qualified-data-centers\">Minnesota Department of Revenue</a>. Source: Publication date not stated. Checked: October 23, 2026.</span> <p class=\"layer-scope\">Facility features can be required for qualification while purchases of those features remain taxable. This focused list is not exhaustive. Locator: What purchases do not qualify for the exemption.</p></dd><dt>Large scale conditions</dt><dd>Covered construction and refurbishment labor must meet prevailing wage requirements. Within three years after service starts, a large scale facility must certify an accepted sustainable design or green building standard. Failure of that standard can require exemption repayment.<span class=\"layer-source\"><a href=\"https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=297A.68\">Minnesota Revisor of Statutes</a>. Source: Publication date not stated. Checked: October 23, 2026.</span> <p class=\"layer-scope\">Additional statutory conditions for large scale qualification. Not a report that any named facility achieved certification, wages or a repayment. Locator: Subdivision42(k),(l),(m).</p></dd><dt>Reported jobs</dt><dd><span class=\"layer-empty\">Not established</span><span class=\"layer-source\"><a href=\"https://mn.gov/deed/business/financing-business/tax-credits/data-center-credit/\">Minnesota Department of Employment and Economic Development</a>. Source: Publication date not stated. Checked: October 23, 2026.</span> <span class=\"layer-source\"><a href=\"https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=297A.68\">Minnesota Revisor of Statutes</a>. Source: Publication date not stated. Checked: October 23, 2026.</span> <p class=\"layer-scope\">No actual jobs for a particular company are established by these program requirements. No universal minimum job count is inferred from this focused review. Locator: Program scope and review limit.</p></dd><dt>Actual tax benefit</dt><dd><span class=\"layer-empty\">Not established</span><span class=\"layer-source\"><a href=\"https://mn.gov/deed/business/financing-business/tax-credits/data-center-credit/\">Minnesota Department of Employment and Economic Development</a>. Source: Publication date not stated. Checked: October 23, 2026.</span> <span class=\"layer-source\"><a href=\"https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=297A.68\">Minnesota Revisor of Statutes</a>. Source: Publication date not stated. Checked: October 23, 2026.</span> <p class=\"layer-scope\">No company exemption amount, paid refund or realized public revenue is established. Locator: Individual award hold.</p></dd><dt>Atlas record id</dt><dd><span class=\"layer-empty\">Not established</span><span class=\"layer-source\"><a href=\"https://mn.gov/deed/business/financing-business/tax-credits/data-center-credit/\">Minnesota Department of Employment and Economic Development</a>. Source: Publication date not stated. Checked: October 23, 2026.</span> <span class=\"layer-source\"><a href=\"https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=297A.68\">Minnesota Revisor of Statutes</a>. Source: Publication date not stated. Checked: October 23, 2026.</span> <p class=\"layer-scope\">No program eligibility or certificate has been independently assigned to a specific Atlas building or parcel. Locator: Identity review hold.</p></dd></dl></article>"}]}
