Montana data center generators and air permits.
3 sourced items are documented. Permit records do not establish installed equipment or actual operation.
Historical record, Program requirements. Checked: October 28, 2026.
Evidence applies only to the subjects and dates in the linked sources. State context does not assign a tariff, permit or quantity to every facility.
Open the Montana data center map.
Sourced findings.
Montana construction and operating permit framework boundaries
Montana DEQ New Facilities, Permitted Sources, MAQP and TitleV FAQ reviewed. Linked current ARM rules and registration programs not fully reviewed. Numeric thresholds and individual applicability not determined.
Montana Department of Environmental Quality. Source: Publication date not stated. Checked: October 25, 2026.Full source details load when opened.
Montana historical2023 electricity-generation emissions
EPA eGRID2023 revision2 state electricity-generation emissions context,ST23 worksheet. Historical2023,not current2026 conditions or data center facility emissions. Annual NOx,SO2 andCO2 totals in source tons are distinct from source-reported total output rates in lb/MWh;CO2 is not CO2 equivalent. Annual net generation is MWh,not installed capacity or customer use. Rates are not marginal emissions,ambient concentrations,health effects or emissions factors allocated to a data center. No tons-to-tonnes conversion,rate recomputation,facility join or causal data center inference. State generation context does not establish the mix delivered to consumers. Puerto Rico source row is outside this51state/DC review,not absence.
U.S. Environmental Protection Agency. Source: Publication date not stated. Checked: October 27, 2026.Full source details load when opened.
Montana historical power and useful thermal emissions2025 and2024
EIA Table9.5 historical state2025 and2024 emissions estimates from energy consumption at conventional power and combined-heat-and-power plants. Includes electricity generation AND production of useful thermal output,not electricity-only emissions. Source unit is thousand metric tons,not eGRID source tons,pounds,CO2equivalent or emission intensity. Source CO2,SO2 and NOx are distinct pollutants,not summed as one climate measure. Displayed zero values may represent small values rounded to zero;no absence or zero-emissions certification. Retain displayed HTML precision;source says Excel cells provide additional precision,not adopted here. No direct eGRID trend or data center allocation,marginal emissions,ambient concentration,health risk,permit compliance,current2026 activity or Native facility joins.
U.S. Energy Information Administration. Source: October 21, 2026. Checked: October 28, 2026.Full source details load when opened.
Explore data center records.
These records are in Montana. State evidence does not establish an individual record match.
- Atlas Power Butte Data Center
- Big Horn Data Hub (Hardin Generating Station)
- Big Sky Digital Infrastructure Campus
- Bitzero Polson Data Center (SKQ/Salish-Kootenai Dam)
- Cogent Billings Data Center
- Krambu Bonner Data Center (former UFP Edge building, Bonner Mill Industrial Park)
- NYDIG DFM Kraken Central Site
- Parsec Data Management Billings
- Project Cardinal (TAC Data Centers Great Falls Campus)
- Sabey Data Centers Butte Campus (Montana Connections)
- Vision Net Billings 2 (1030 Central Avenue)
Find the full record collection on the state map.
Updated . What changed: Latest source review in this evidence collection. It does not establish a site outcome.



