Data CentersAtlas
Virginia infrastructure

Virginia data center power rates and tariffs: who pays.

Virginia Electric and Power Company (Dominion): Approval documented; Appalachian Power Company in Virginia: Approval documented.

Approval documented. Checked: October 28, 2026.

Evidence applies only to the subjects and dates in the linked sources. State context does not assign a tariff, permit or quantity to every facility.

Open the Virginia data center map.

Sourced findings.

  • PJM regional forecast adjustment process

    PJM regional context. A state assignment is not a quantitative allocation to Virginia.

    PJM Interconnection. Source: September 29, 2026. Checked: October 23, 2026.

    Full source details load when opened.

  • Virginia

    A two point comparison, not a complete time series. State average revenue per unit sold is not a household bill. No causal attribution to data centers.

    U.S. Energy Information Administration. Source: September 24, 2026. Checked: October 23, 2026.

    Full source details load when opened.

  • Dominion Virginia GS5

    A future approved utility framework. New customer contract terms and legacy demand charge exceptions remain separate. No individual project connection is approved by this review.

    Virginia State Corporation Commission. Source: November 25, 2025. Checked: October 23, 2026.

    Full source details load when opened.

  • Virginia

    Captured August residential comparison. The earlier July comparison remains in the source history. State average revenue per unit sold is not a household bill or evidence of a data center effect.

    U.S. Energy Information Administration. Source: Publication date not stated. Checked: October 23, 2026.

    Full source details load when opened.

  • Virginia agency reported service agreement and demand context

    Five utility MW figures in the October 1 report retain an ambiguous service agreement or equivalent contracted demand label. They are not summed or presented as actual load, queue requests or individual approved connections.

    Virginia State Corporation Commission. Source: October 1, 2026. Checked: October 23, 2026.

    Full source details load when opened.

  • Dominion LSE submitted data center forecast in DOMZONE

    Dated utility forecast submission. Virginia panel assignment is context only. Capacity, coincident demand, contract commitments and future years are distinct; no regional queue total or final PJM adoption is inferred.

    PJM Load Analysis Subcommittee presentation by Dominion Energy. Source: September 29, 2026. Checked: October 23, 2026.

    Full source details load when opened.

  • AEP submitted large load forecast adjustments with separate table bases

    Dated utility submission across operating companies and multiple load types. Existing plus planned adjustments and incremental planned comparisons remain distinct. Repeated state panels are context, not allocated totals or measured load.

    PJM Load Analysis Subcommittee presentation by American Electric Power. Source: September 29, 2026. Checked: October 23, 2026.

    Full source details load when opened.

  • PJM adopted forecast adjustment review procedure

    Regional procedure shown in the PJM state panels for context. Manual approval, utility submissions, final forecasts and actual load remain distinct.

    PJM Interconnection. Source: Publication date not stated. Checked: October 23, 2026.

    Full source details load when opened.

  • Appalachian Power LPS order and posted sheet differences

    Utility specific approved special terms with dated source differences. Final order requirements, printed chronology, acceptance, applicability, conditional charges and unknown customer outcomes remain separate.

    Appalachian Power Company. Source: Publication date not stated. Checked: October 23, 2026.

    Full source details load when opened.

  • Virginia commercial and industrial electricity prices

    State sector average revenue per kilowatthour sold, not a quoted tariff, individual bill, dedicated data center rate or evidence of a data center effect. August2026 preliminary and August2025 final. Commercial and industrial customer classification may change; averages do not establish a facility customer class.

    U.S. Energy Information Administration. Source: October 23, 2026. Checked: October 26, 2026.

    Full source details load when opened.

  • Virginia historical commercial and industrial electricity prices

    Historical July2026 preliminary and July2025 final state sector average revenue per kilowatthour sold. Not August values, a quoted tariff, data center customer classification, individual bill or measured data center impact. Utility sector classification and independent rounding limitations remain.

    U.S. Energy Information Administration. Source: September 24, 2026. Checked: October 23, 2026.

    Full source details load when opened.

  • Virginia utility scale generation

    Utility scale facility net generation by state and producer sector, August2026 preliminary versus August2025 final. Energy is reported in thousand megawatthours, not MW capacity, electricity sales, customer consumption, grid reliability or data center demand. Commercial and industrial here classify generators, not electricity customers. Small scale generation is outside this table. NM means not meaningful due to large relative standard error or excessive percentage change, not zero. Negative net generation means plant use exceeds gross generation. Components and percentage changes retain independent rounding; no facility association or causal data center inference.

    U.S. Energy Information Administration. Source: October 23, 2026. Checked: October 27, 2026.

    Full source details load when opened.

  • Virginia utility scale generation

    Utility scale facility net generation by state and producer sector, January through August2026 preliminary versus January through August2025 final; cumulative year to date, not August alone or a full annual total. Energy is reported in thousand megawatthours, not MW capacity, electricity sales, customer consumption, grid reliability or data center demand. Commercial and industrial here classify generators, not electricity customers. Small scale generation is outside this table. NM means not meaningful due to large relative standard error or excessive percentage change, not zero. Negative net generation means plant use exceeds gross generation. Components and percentage changes retain independent rounding; no facility association or causal data center inference.

    U.S. Energy Information Administration. Source: October 23, 2026. Checked: October 27, 2026.

    Full source details load when opened.

  • Virginia utility scale net summer capacity

    Net summer capacity of utility scale units by technology and state, August2026 preliminary versus August2025 final,in MW. Facilities with total generator nameplate capacity less than1MW are excluded; this is a facility threshold,not a claim that every unit is at least1MW. Concentrated Solar Power Energy Storage is included in Renewable Sources,not Other Energy Storage. Renewable,fossil,pumped storage,other storage,nuclear andother categories are distinct. Not nameplate capacity,energy generation,MWh storage volume,dispatchable output,reserve margin,grid availability or power allocated to data centers. Zero does not establish no projects or resources; no small scale capacity or facility association inferred.

    U.S. Energy Information Administration. Source: October 23, 2026. Checked: October 27, 2026.

    Full source details load when opened.

  • Virginia historical IEEE distribution reliability2025 and2024

    EIA Electric Power Annual Table11.2 historical2025 and2024 distribution-system reliability reported using IEEE1366. Coverage varies by state and year;percent of customers reported is meters on the reliability schedule divided by customers on the sales schedule and can exceed100percent,not a probability or uptime percentage. SAIDI is annual minutes of non-momentary interruptions experienced by the average customer;SAIFI is annual number of interruptions;CAIDI is minutes per interruption. All events,without major event days,and loss of supply removed are distinct series,not additive. Loss of supply removed excludes high-voltage/bulk-system supply-loss outages,not all major events. Source blanks remain unknown with no stated individual cause;literal source zeros remain zero. No complete utility census,site-specific uptime,SLA,transmission reliability,capacity availability,data center load effect or causal attribution.

    U.S. Energy Information Administration. Source: October 21, 2026. Checked: October 27, 2026.

    Full source details load when opened.

  • Virginia historical any-method distribution reliability2025 and2024

    EIA Electric Power Annual Table11.3 historical2025 and2024 distribution-system reliability using any method. Any method combines utilities using IEEE standards and utilities not using IEEE;it is not a separate disjoint population to add to Table11.2. For IEEE utilities major event days use a daily SAIDI threshold from five years of daily values;non-IEEE utilities self-determine major events. All events and without major events remain distinct,not additive or equivalent to IEEE loss-of-supply-removed. Reporting coverage varies by state/year;meters on the reliability schedule divided by sales-schedule customers may exceed100percent,not uptime or probability. SAIDI annual minutes,SAIFI annual interruption counts and CAIDI minutes per interruption remain separate. Source-reported customer averages are not individual site performance,SLA,complete utility coverage,current2026 observations,bulk transmission capacity or data center causation. No Native or facility joins.

    U.S. Energy Information Administration. Source: October 21, 2026. Checked: October 27, 2026.

    Full source details load when opened.

Explore county records.

Explore data center records.

These records are in Virginia. State evidence does not establish an individual record match.

Find the full record collection on the state map.

Download this state evidence and its sources.

Updated . What changed: Latest source review in this evidence collection. It does not establish a site outcome.