Data CentersAtlas
Virginia infrastructure

Virginia data center water reporting and use.

13 sourced items are documented. Reporting duties, permitted quantities and reported use retain separate meanings.

Enacted, Historical record. Checked: October 27, 2026.

Evidence applies only to the subjects and dates in the linked sources. State context does not assign a tariff, permit or quantity to every facility.

Open the Virginia data center map.

Sourced findings.

  • Google Sterling 2025 water reporting

    Google reported location totals only, potentially covering multiple facilities. These are not all operators in a city or state, approved supply allocations or an individual building reading.

    Google. Source: Publication date not stated. Checked: October 23, 2026.

    Full source details load when opened.

  • Google Ashburn 2025 water reporting

    Google reported location totals only, potentially covering multiple facilities. These are not all operators in a city or state, approved supply allocations or an individual building reading.

    Google. Source: Publication date not stated. Checked: October 23, 2026.

    Full source details load when opened.

  • Google Bristow 2025 water reporting

    Google reported location totals only, potentially covering multiple facilities. These are not all operators in a city or state, approved supply allocations or an individual building reading.

    Google. Source: Publication date not stated. Checked: October 23, 2026.

    Full source details load when opened.

  • Google Leesburg 2025 water reporting

    Google reported location totals only, potentially covering multiple facilities. These are not all operators in a city or state, approved supply allocations or an individual building reading.

    Google. Source: Publication date not stated. Checked: October 23, 2026.

    Full source details load when opened.

  • Meta Henrico 2024 water withdrawal

    Meta reported named facility withdrawal for 2024. The label may cover a campus; it is not an independent Atlas building measurement, statewide demand, approved allocation or future water requirement. Original megaliter unit and unknown site consumption remain explicit.

    Meta Platforms. Source: Publication date not stated. Checked: October 23, 2026.

    Full source details load when opened.

  • Virginia supplier water reporting with a January 2027 start

    Adopted supplier category reporting. Statutory effectiveness, regulatory effectiveness and the explicit future reporting start remain separate. Reporting duties do not establish actual water use or universal public facility disclosure.

    Virginia General Assembly. Source: Publication date not stated. Checked: October 23, 2026.

    Full source details load when opened.

  • Virginia October report water response gaps

    An actual published report with incomplete water provider responses. It contributes reporting context, not a new zero water observation, operator report or complete state total.

    Virginia State Corporation Commission. Source: October 1, 2026. Checked: October 23, 2026.

    Full source details load when opened.

  • Microsoft Ashburn fiscal 2025 water withdrawal

    Operator reported whole megaliter withdrawal at a metropolitan location containing owned datacenters. Fiscal period, estimated data possibility, exclusions and absence of Deloitte review are explicit. No exact building join or net consumption calculation.

    Microsoft. Source: Publication date not stated. Checked: October 24, 2026.

    Full source details load when opened.

  • Microsoft Boydton fiscal 2025 water withdrawal

    Operator reported whole megaliter withdrawal at a metropolitan location containing owned datacenters. Fiscal period, estimated data possibility, exclusions and absence of Deloitte review are explicit. No exact building join or net consumption calculation.

    Microsoft. Source: Publication date not stated. Checked: October 24, 2026.

    Full source details load when opened.

  • Microsoft Manassas fiscal 2025 water withdrawal

    Operator reported whole megaliter withdrawal at a metropolitan location containing owned datacenters. Fiscal period, estimated data possibility, exclusions and absence of Deloitte review are explicit. No exact building join or net consumption calculation.

    Microsoft. Source: Publication date not stated. Checked: October 24, 2026.

    Full source details load when opened.

  • Helio conditional water capacity and infrastructure funding agreement

    Publicly hosted primary agreement PDF1through8,10,13through16 reviewed; signatures13/14 visually checked. Other clauses and exhibits not fully reviewed; no exact parcel, Google affiliation or Native association established.

    Western Virginia Water Authority and Helio Capital LLC; publicly hosted copy. Source: October 14, 2025. Checked: October 25, 2026.

    Full source details load when opened.

  • Virginia historical thermoelectric water context

    Historical2015 state thermoelectric power estimates, including fresh and saline water. Not current2026 conditions, data center facility use, drinking water demand, permit allocation or proof of a data center effect. Withdrawal, total water use including deliveries and reclaimed wastewater, and consumptive use are distinct. Consumption may exceed withdrawal because other supplied water is included. Independent rounding is retained; no facility joins or per kWh allocation.

    U.S. Geological Survey. Source: Publication date not stated. Checked: October 26, 2026.

    Full source details load when opened.

  • Virginia historical2020 modeled thermoelectric water context

    USGS2008-2020 thermoelectric water-use reanalysis,published annual output filtered to2020:modeled annual-mean million gallons/day,not observed current2026 water use.958plant-year rows cover48conterminous states,not a complete facility census or data center inventory. Withdrawals include fresh/saline rows;consumption at coastal saline plants was not modeled.54Once-through saline source zero-consumption placeholders are excluded from consumption sums,not measured zero. State best/lower/upper figures are calculated sums of source plant model estimates and thermodynamic plausibility limits,not statewide statistical confidence intervals. Do not compare directly with2015county compilation as a measured trend;methods differ. HUC12 IDs and county labels do not certify parcels;README says public model-input coordinates use interpolated HUC12 centroids,not precise plant locations. No source coordinates adopted,site joins,permit/sustainable availability/datacenter allocation or causal inference.

    U.S. Geological Survey. Source: October 31, 2023. Checked: October 27, 2026.

    Full source details load when opened.

Explore county records.

Explore data center records.

These records are in Virginia. State evidence does not establish an individual record match.

Find the full record collection on the state map.

Download this state evidence and its sources.

Updated . What changed: Latest source review in this evidence collection. It does not establish a site outcome.